2017 Young Artist Competition Winners

The Peter Tannenwald Division is named in memory of one the Young Artist Competition's foremost supporters. Awards for the older competitors (over 18 years old) are a First prize of $1000 and a solo appearance with either the Philharmonic Orchestra or the Chorale during the following concert season, and Second and Third Prizes of $650 and $350 respectively.

The Leonard D. Wood Awards, named in honor of Maestro Wood who conducted the Orchestra for many years, are intended to reward excellence in our younger contestants and to encourage them to continue to compete. They are awarded to contestants who are 18 years of age or younger.  The Wood Awards are $500 for First Place, $350 for Second Place and $150 for Third Place.

The Penelope Davis Hart Honorable Mentions ($100) are awarded at the discretion of the judges.

The 2017 competition took place on May 6th. The prize winners in the overall competition are:

The Peter Tannenwald Division

1st Place:  CLARE LONGENDYKE, piano (Performance Award with $1000)

2nd Place:  KIYOSHI HAYASHI, violin ($650)

3rd Place:  TAMRA GRACE JONES, soprano ($350)

Honorable Mention: JARRETT HOFFMAN, clarinet and ALYSSA KOOGLER, soprano

The Leonard D. Wood Division

1st Place:  HANNAH RYU, piano (15) ($500)

2nd Place:  HAYDEN IDSON, cello (12) ($350)

3rd Place:  JEREMY KLEIN, viola (17) ($150)

Honorable Mention: QUINN EASTBURN, violin (12), CHRISTINA GONG, violin (15), ALAN HLOZEK, cello (18), and ISAAC LAING, cello (13)