2016 Young Artist Competition Winners

The Peter Tannenwald Division, named in memory of one the Young Artist Competition’s foremost supporters, consist of First prize, now $1000 and a solo appearance with either the Philharmonic Orchestra or the Chorale during the following concert season, and Second and Third Prizes of $650 and $350 respectively.

The Leonard D. Wood Awards, named in honor of Maestro Wood who conducted the Orchestra for many years, are intended to reward excellence in our younger contestants and to encourage them to continue to compete. It is awarded to a contestant who is 18 years of age or younger. The Wood Awards are $500 for First Place, $350 for Second Place and $150 for Third Place.

The Penelope Davis Hart Honorable Mentions ($100) are awarded at the discretion of the judges.

The 2016 competition took place on May 7th. The prize winners in the overall competition are:

The Peter Tannenwald Division

1st Place:  ABIGAIL KRAWSON, soprano (Performance Award with $1000)

2nd Place:  SUN-A PARK, piano ($650)

3rd Place:  COURTNEY MILLER, mezzo-soprano ($350)

Honorable Mention:  KELLY GLYPTIS, soprano ($100) and JACOB SCHARFMAN, baritone ($100)

The Leonard D. Wood Division

1st Place:  HALEY KWOUN, cello (14) ($500)

2nd Place:  KEILA WAKAO, violin (10) ($350)

3rd Place:  ETHAN FISHER-CHAVES, violin (12) ($150)